Tiptoes in the System #TimeParadox

”Time is what we want most, but what we use worst.” – William Penn

Human Clock - Original artwork by HandMade Theatre

Human Clock – Original artwork by HandMade Theatre

This will be a short post, as time is limited. Freelancers become in this time paradox. There is time for everything and no time altogether.

How many things can we fit into each day? Working, teaching and learning. Listening, noticing and creating. Walking, commuting and waiting. Breathing, eating and drinking. Wondering whether we’ve done all we had to do. Making someone happy. Making someone mad. Thinking and reminiscing. Living. Evolving.

Our only constant is perpetual motion, and this ongoing back-and-forth gives us an edge over the paradox: we can make life happen. Perhaps not a great life, but a life up to our standards. We can do it alone. We can invite others to join us. Some may join uninvited (and I love them most).

Let more grains fall on the chessboard. Wait for the proper-sized pebble to ripple the lake. It will happen, because those things just do. Use time and do it all.

(and Complexity will be hitting this blog soon)

One comment on “Tiptoes in the System #TimeParadox

  1. veniachan says:

    Hi, it’s me again 🙂

    You know, when I first read this entry back in October, I didn’t dwell on it. I concluded that you were just insanely busy (and how can you not?) and were posting this to let some steam out. But I think there’s more than meets the eye. Even though it didn’t contain any sensational life-changing moto, this jot-down entry stuck around somehow and I’ve been unconsciously thinking about it…

    Well, this month I can finally say that yes, I totally get it!!

    During the day I switch from office work to teaching, then I become a sort of “housewife” that goes grocery shopping and thinks about cooking, laundry and what not, of whether I have time left to study some Japanese or go to the gym or maybe catch up with friends – and what about finishing that book I had started reading? It’s incredible. There is so much to do, I mean there is /variety/, which is good against boredom and keeps you alert. But sometimes it gets too hectic…sometimes I run from one thing to the other and have no time to think. Or eat properly.

    In short, I identify with it. The only part I haven’t figured out yet is, “We make life happen”… hmm I don’t feel that way yet. Perhaps I will get there one day but for now, I just feel like an employee: not completely in charge, yet responsible for lots of things; trying to accomodate this huge thing called “teaching” in my private life as a human being. Good to know all teachers out there face the same. Enough talk now, let’s get organised and fit everything – after all we, of all people, really know how to do it, I dare say we’re the best at this!! Have a nice day~ 😉

Leave a Reply

