Not another Valentine’s Project – #E-encouraging them & myself to #e-read

#E-reading #E-books (@ChristinaC)

#E-reading #E-books (@ChristinaC)

To be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of e-reading. It’s always been something I had to do or I got used to doing in order to keep up with today’s record-breaking speed of everything! I’m not really into Valentine’s day celebrations either…
So where is this post going?
Well, it’s come to my attention that I might have got it wrong altogether. You see, reading is like an exclusive invitation to me. VIBs only (”B” for bookworm). I choose, I read, I ponder, I enjoy.  So I  decided to test it (and myself). Would it be possible to enjoy literature by reading online and could this be done collectively?
Valentine’s day seemed like the perfect opportunity. I was struggling to find interesting activities and as it’s always my goal to integrate technology effectively in my courses I decided to get creative.

VP - E-reading

I set this project up for my advanced level group (20-25 year-olds) because we focus on general knowledge and use of English and we’ve got unlimited time to work on projects like this. We’ve also had to be flexible with class hours and locations, as all students have full-time jobs, and a lot of work is done and exchanged online.

Here’s the outline:

  • Share this quick LoveQuote Quiz with the group to get them thinking and ask them to submit their responses within the day.
  • Share results and correct answers and allow some time for discussion and exchange of thoughts (we do this on my Facebook page).
  • Share quick Poll to decide on the next step: How would you like to do this project?
  • Announce results and either set up a social reading group or provide links to the e-book of choice.

The group decided to e-read Shakespeare’s ”A lover’s complaint”, first individually and then collectively, so I sent them its link from Project Gutenberg, which they sent to their Google Drives. They had a week to e-read and keep notes on what they found interesting and would like to discuss with the group.
I then created a group on ReadUps and sent them an invitation, so we could e-read together and exchange thoughts, questions and ideas within this narrative poem.

It’s actually been going really well and I should say it’s kind of put me in my place:  e-reading can be very interesting and it’s a lot more fun when done in company. Not only have we discovered another way of learning, but we’ve also been remarkably productive in practising our digital skills.

The next step will be to try and fully accomplish M Jesús García San Martín‘s incredible goal for the 30 Goals Challenge for Educators by creating a collective presentation of our group as e-readers!

Some extra notes:

LoveQuoteQuiz Answers:
”Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation.” Rabindranath Tagore
”Love is like war: easy to begin but very hard to stop.” H.L. Menchen
”Life without love is like a tree without blossoms or fruit.” Khalil Gibran
”Love is a smoke made with the fume of sighs.” William Shakespeare

E-book links:
”Chitra, A play in one act”,  Rabindranath Tagore
”The madman: his parables and poems”, Khalil Gibran
”A lover’s complaint” , William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

